Home » Uncategorized » Today in Weird Music History, 1/7 Christmas Continues!

Today in Weird Music History, 1/7 Christmas Continues!

Image

1/7 Today in Weird Music History: 1947. Johnny Marks’ song, “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” hits #1 on the pop charts, somewhat late for the Christmas season.  Rudolph’s journey began in 1939 as a storybook and song for the Montgomery Ward retail and catalog stores.  But even greater fame awaited after Gene Autry’s 1949 styling and the Rankin and Bass Christmas special of 1964.  

2 Comments

  1. shoreacres says:

    Somewhere around here, I have my 45 rpm of Autry singing “Rudolph”, and a photo of my dad and I with the record and the little player I got for Christmas. I would have been about five, I think – when kids’ records stil came in red and yellow.

    • rlbaldwin2 says:

      Love it! I was introduced to Autry’s version very young, too, but on LP. I also remember receiving a postcard from Santa in 1967 or so, telling me about the birth of Rudolph!

Leave a Reply

